UPSIDE-DOWN…..

253164_394532717269403_1020028729_nfaith analogy

First Kings 18 tells of one of the greatest showdowns in history. Elijah the prophet of God confronted 400 prophets of Baal–and it was no contest. The people that day saw that there was indeed a God in heaven. Elijah was a hero.

Then he went home and his world turned upside-down. 1 Kings 19 continues the story of Elijah:

1 Kings 19:2-4, 9-10, 18

So Jezebel sent this message to Elijah: “May the gods strike me and even kill me if by this time tomorrow I have not killed you just as you killed them.”

Elijah was afraid and fled for his life…. Then he went on alone into the wilderness, traveling all day. He sat down under a solitary broom tree and prayed that he might die. “I have had enough, LORD,” he said. “Take my life, for I am no better than my ancestors who have already died.”

Elijah eventually made his way to Mount Sinai where God confronted him.

The LORD said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

Elijah replied, “I have zealously served the LORD God Almighty. But the people of Israel have broken their covenant with you, torn down your altars, and killed every one of your prophets. I am the only one left, and now they are trying to kill me, too.”

Elijah thought he was all alone, but God reminded him:

“I will preserve 7,000 others in Israel who have never bowed down to Baal or kissed him!”

Though others may forget what you’ve done, God will never forget. Though you may feel alone, God is better than that, he hasn’t abandoned you! Not only is he still there, there are others too. Take some time to look.

Leave a Reply

